THE LAST MARINE by T.S. Ransdell

Standard disclaimer time.  I received this title as an eBook when the Author posted about this book in a military fiction book group. I looked it up and saw that it was part of Kindle Unlimited, and I have a KU subscription.  So, I then downloaded it through KU on my own accord. The Author did not send me a copy to review, and did not request me to review this book. A rating will follow this review on Goodreads and Amazon.

I review books based on the story itself.  I’m not an editor and I’m not reading these books to proof them for Authors.  I’ve read classics or best sellers with mistakes in them.  The only time I will let mistakes effect my review is if the mistakes made reading the book cumbersome. At that point, I will just give it a lower number rating while reviewing the actual story itself.

I don’t like reading a review that is basically the back cover blurb, or something that gives away too much of the story. Personally, I like suspense. I like to discover the details of the story as I read them. So, please enjoy this spoiler free book review!

 

I’m happy to announce that the fourth book I’m reviewing on my blog is a book called THE LAST MARINE by T.S. Ransdell.

THE LAST MARINE is a Dystopian, War science fiction, and is the first book in a series.  At the time of this review, the Author has not published the next book in the series yet.  This book hit close to home for me, because I am a Veteran of the US Marine Corps.  This was the main draw for me to download it.  I like to read stories about the USMC and the Author’s take on the Eagle Globe and Anchor on the cover caught my eye.

I believe the author should include “Political” and “Military” in the book’s keyword list so it can be listed in the Political and Military mystery, thriller, & suspense sub categories in Amazon.  Amazon has secret categories that you can get your books listed on by using Amazon provided keywords, and this book needs to be on more lists to get to more readers.

The story itself has aspects of modern day politics and is a new twist on the current political atmosphere in America.  America has always succeeded by being in the middle, and this book shows what would happen if the country tilted too far to the left.  It also showcases war!  I enjoy  reading a good Marine Corps war story.  You can tell that the Author is a USMC combat Veteran, because the combat scenes are not far fetched.

The story itself is intriguing, even if you are independent like myself or if you are someone who leans left.  It’s always good to have a political situation looked at from all sides, to help balance everything out.  The story is fast paced all the way until the end.  You will look forward to the publication of book two.

I enjoyed this book and I believe I would have even if I wasn’t a Veteran.  The characters were developed, and the cover looked great.  I recommend this book to others. I rate this book 5 out of 5!

-PRP3 The Author. December 20, 2016

Leave a Reply

