LIGHTED WINDOWS by Jude Roy

Here’s my standard disclaimer. I saw the title listed on a website for mystery & thriller books and decided to check it out. This title was part of Kindle Unlimited and I am a KU subscriber, so I downloaded it from Amazon on my own accord. The Author did not send me a copy to review, and did not request me to review this book. A rating will follow this review on Goodreads and Amazon.

I review books based on the story itself. I’m not an editor and I’m not reading these books to proof them for Authors. I’ve read classics or best sellers with mistakes in them. The only time I will let mistakes effect my review is if the mistakes made reading the book cumbersome. At that point, I will just give it a lower number rating while reviewing the actual story itself.

I don’t like reading a review that is basically the back cover blurb, or something that gives away too much of the story. Personally, I like suspense. I like to discover the details of the story as I read them. So, please enjoy this spoiler free book review!

 

I’m happy to announce that the ninth book I’m reviewing on my blog is a book called LIGHTED WINDOWS:  A COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES by Jude Roy.

LIGHTED WINDOWS:  A COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES is a literary fiction.  I have to admit that I was thrown off by the “collection of short stories” part of the title.  I was expecting an Anthology or at the very least, a collection of non-related stories by the Author.  Even though it wasn’t what I expected, it was a good read.

I won’t spoil it for the reader, but it’s basically a tale of a character experiencing life.  He learns life lessons in his small Cajun town, and those lessons help form him into the man he becomes.  You see that he learns these lessons with the morals of the old ways that he was taught, and that better prepares him to join the modern world outside of his small farming town.

I liked the Cajun aspect of the story.  I like to read about communities within communities.  Cajun, Amish, etc.  Enclaves…  How will the community member succeed in mainstream America?  What beliefs and experiences from their unique background will they showcase in a story?  Cajun for me is a throw back to Napoleonic times, and it’s interesting to see that their community still exists in the Bayous of Louisiana to this day.

Back to the story.  I enjoyed the collection of stories that follow our young man from childhood to adulthood.  I thought that at least one would be boring, but I found that each story was as interesting as the last.  I recommend this book to others. I rate this book 5 out of 5!

-PRP3 The Author. December 25, 2016

 

Leave a Reply

