Visit The Pepsi Store in New Bern, North Carolina

All content and images are owned by Paul Russell Parker III.  Copyright 2017.  All Rights Reserved.

This is going to be the first of a new section of my blog.  I post my thoughts, my rants, things about my books, book reviews, and now I’m going to post about places I’ve visited.

The first place I’m going to talk about is The Pepsi Store in New Bern, North Carolina.  The place is owned and operated by a very familiar name to Eastern North Carolina; the Minges Bottling Group.

I live an hour away from New Bern, but I haven’t visited the place since I moved here in 2014.  I visited the city once when I was in middle school, but I don’t remember much from that trip.  I’ve been there a few times in the last few weeks, so I decided to talk about what I saw there.

First of all, there is plenty of free parking, and there are many shops to see as you walk around.  One thing my family and I liked to do was to take pictures of all the Bear statues around the downtown area.  The one below is in front of City Hall and features the US flag, the NC State flag, and City of New Bern’s flag.

IMG_2870

We actually visited quite a few places in New Bern, so this will be the first post of a few post series on the City.   So lets talk about the reason why we went to New Bern in the first place; The Pepsi Store, The Birthplace of Pepsi-Cola!

IMG_2851

The view of the store from across the street.

IMG_2850

This is a special treat for me to talk about because…  I like Pepsi!  I prefer it over other soft drinks.  Especially the Real Sugar 20 oz bottles they put out sometimes.  I lived overseas so I got used to drinking Pepsi made with real sugar, because the countries I lived in didn’t use high fructose corn syrup.

The fun thing about The Pepsi Store is that you can see Pepsi memorabilia, buy Pepsi souvenirs, and even order a Pepsi at the old fountain bar at the original store front.  Here’s what you will see as you walk up to the store.

IMG_2849

There are many items you can pick up to commemorate your visit to the Store.  There are also many items on display.  You can see Pepsi products that are sold in different countries.

IMG_2836

You can pick up a wide assortment of Pepsi product items such as lanyards, pens, shirts, hats, and etc.  Even items featuring other Pepsi products such as Mountain Dew.

IMG_2842a.jpg

Another feature inside the store is that the original bar is still there!  You can order fresh Pepsi-Cola products at the same spot that Caleb Bradham sold the first ones from, and then have a seat at one of the tables to enjoy your refreshing drink.

IMG_2841

Visiting the store is one of many things your family can do when visiting New Bern.  I recommend it.  You can pick up a shirt, grab a cold drink, and then start your walking tour of the downtown area after your visit.

 

All content and images are owned by Paul Russell Parker III.  Copyright 2017.  All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

