DENY THE FATHER by M. Duda

Here’s my standard disclaimer. I saw the title listed on a website for mystery & thriller books and decided to check it out. It was part of Kindle Unlimited, and since I’m a KU subscriber, I downloaded the book that way from Amazon on my own accord. The Author did not send me a copy to review, and did not request that I review this book. A rating will follow this review on Goodreads and Amazon.

I review books based on the story itself. I’m not an editor and I’m not reading these books to proof them for Authors. I’ve read classics or best sellers with mistakes in them. The only time I will let mistakes effect my review is if the mistakes made reading the book cumbersome. At that point, I will just give it a lower number rating while reviewing the actual story itself.

I don’t like reading a review that is basically the back cover blurb, or something that gives away too much of the story. Personally, I like suspense. I like to discover the details of the story as I read them. So, please enjoy this spoiler free book review!

I’m happy to announce that the fifteenth book I’m reviewing on my blog is a book called DENY THE FATHER by M. Duda.

DENTY THE FATHER is a short story thriller.  There are three short stories in the book and none of them are related.  The different stories show that the Author has quite the range!

The first story brings Favelas and impoverished children to mind.  Living in a world where you do what you have to do to eat, or be eaten!  Mere children have to make difficult decisions, and no one is safe.  Families are torn apart.  There’s a scene in the story about visiting a butcher shop on the other side of town.  It tugged at my heart strings, knowing that type of situation exists today.  How often do we just go into a store and grab a cart full of items with no after thought.  You would think someone’s death is a sad occasion, but in this case, it might be the best case scenario.

The second story is a man on a new journey…  A father with a major concern in  mind.  You follow him on his other-wordly journey, and see how he finds peace.  It’s a happy ending to a sad tale.  How the father was put at ease, with such cosmic imagery…  Great touch.

The third story is right up my alley.  I’m a huge alien and galactic settler sci fi fan.  This story was a twist.  I’m used to a Space Marine type of story, this was something else.  It was interesting to see a sci fi tale from a settlers point of view.  In the sci fi genre, you follow the large scale, cosmic fight scenes.  This story, you follow one family and their struggle to survive.  Life isn’t easy.  The environment isn’t friendly either, and neither are the banks!  This story was much darker than I imagined it would be when I first started reading it.  It’s sci fi noir!  What happens between the loaner and the family, and the escape the husband chooses from their toil?  The author spun a magnificent tale.

If you love fiction about the human struggle and the darker side of life, I recommend this book to you!  I rate this book 5 out of 5!

-PRP3 The Author Media. January 10, 2017

Leave a comment