INVISIBLE ARMIES by Max Boot

Here’s my standard disclaimer. I ran across this title when looking for military themed books to read. I purchased this title as an eBook from Amazon on my own accord. The Author did not send me a copy to review, and did not request me to review this book. A rating will follow this review on Goodreads and Amazon.

I review books based on the story itself. I’m not an editor and I’m not reading these books to proof them for Authors. I’ve read classics or best sellers with mistakes in them. The only time I will let mistakes effect my review is if the mistakes made reading the book cumbersome. At that point, I will just give it a lower number rating while reviewing the actual story itself.

I don’t like reading a review that is basically the back cover blurb, or something that gives away too much of the story. Personally, I like suspense. I like to discover the details of the story as I read them. So, please enjoy this spoiler free book review!

 

I’m happy to announce that the twelfth book I’m reviewing on my blog is a book called INVISIBLE ARMIES An Epic History of Guerrilla Warfare from Ancient Times to the Present by Max Boot.

INVISIBLE ARMIES is a military history, nonfiction.   I’m a Veteran of the United States Marine Corps and I’m somewhat of a history buff.  I’m very interested in military history and read as many history books as I can.  I picked this book out because I read another title by Max Boot and thoroughly enjoyed it.  I wasn’t surprised that this was also another great book by the author.

This book documented the most prevalent form of warfare in history; partisan or guerrilla warfare.  The main draw for me to read this book was reading the historic events and the insurgencies that occurred during them.  You were able to see how it was practiced throughout history, and what came from it.  Which ones worked and which ones didn’t…  What kind of response to insurgency is effect and what kind of response isn’t.  It’s amazing to see that guerrilla warfare always existed, but military leaders kept on making the same mistake over and over when dealing with insurgents.  I was especially drawn to the Iraq War parts, because I spent a tour over there.  That and the historic events of America’s past.

Overall, this was a good book.  The historic events drew me in, and kept me reading.  America has been dealing with low level combat throughout its history, and this title shows you why it’s important to have a plan for dealing with guerrillas.  The book was easy to read, and the cover looked good.  If you’re looking to read a book about guerrilla wafare, I recommend this one. I rate this book 5 out of 5!

-PRP3 The Author Media. December 28, 2016

Leave a comment